What Countries Border Switzerland

What Countries Border Switzerland?

If you are wondering what countries border Switzerland, you’ve come to the right place. Read on to learn more about Germany, Austria, and Liechtenstein. These countries are not only neighbors but are also significant to the country. This article will teach you more about each and how they are related.


The French and Swiss countries share a 572 km long border. The current path of the border was primarily established at the Congress of Vienna in 1815, when Geneva, Neuch√Ętel, and Valais were added to France. It has undergone several modifications and most recently changed in 2002.


The German-Swiss border is a 330-kilometer-long strip that mainly follows the High Rhine. Part of the border falls within the greater Zurich metropolitan area. Zurich’s suburban S-Bahn line crosses into German territory in places like Kreuzlingen. In addition, the Trinational Eurodistrict of Basel consists of territories in Switzerland and France.


The country of Austria borders many other countries. To the west, the country borders Switzerland and Liechtenstein. Austria borders the Czech Republic, Hungary, and Slovakia to the east. In the northwest, Austria borders Germany and Hungary. To the southeast, Austria borders former Yugoslavia.


Liechtenstein is a small country in Western Europe that borders Austria and Switzerland. It is an affluent, high-technology state with a high standard of living. Its economy is primarily based on exports, and its per capita GDP is about USD 165,000.


Italy and Switzerland share a border in the Domodossola Valley, which stretches from Lugano to Livigno. In Switzerland, the border is marked by mountains such as the Marchhorn, Grieshorn, and Bortelhorn. In Italy, the border passes through the towns of Lugano and the villages of Malcantone. The border also passes the village of Piz Da L’Aquila.

Switzerland shares a currency with Liechtenstein.

Switzerland shares a currency with Liechtenstein, and the two countries have strong ties. Liechtenstein is one of the world’s wealthiest countries, and its GDP per capita was USD 162,558 in 2019. The country’s economy is primarily based on business, with 36 percent of employment coming from manufacturing. A small portion of the country’s population is employed in agriculture.

It is a neutral country

Switzerland’s neutrality is a long-standing tradition. The country’s geographic position has given it strategic importance in Europe. It has served as a crossroads for military campaigns and a symbol in big power games. Since the late 13th century, Switzerland has worked to remain neutral, sometimes successfully, but more often not. In the past, Switzerland’s neutrality was a means of protecting its independence from foreign interference.

It has a long history of friendly border relations with Liechtenstein.

Despite their small size, Switzerland and Liechtenstein share many similarities, including common values and a common currency. Since 1919, Switzerland has helped protect the interests of Liechtenstein abroad. In 1923, the Customs Union Treaty incorporated Liechtenstein into the Swiss economy. The Principality adopted the Swiss franc as its official currency in the same year. The two countries also have longstanding diplomatic ties. In 1919, Liechtenstein opened a legation in Bern, which was converted into an embassy in 1969. Today, Liechtenstein maintains its embassy in Bern.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)